Author Topic: Protopic and Sun  (Read 6021 times)

Offline lilmiss_p

• Registered member
Protopic and Sun
« on: Wednesday July 08, 2009, 10:45:42 AM »
Hi Guys

i have achieved some godo results with Protopic and my face eczema... I use it once or twice a fortnight and its seems to keep things under control. I also sometimes use it on my neck and chest area but sometimes the burning is crazy!

Wanted to ask about going in the sun. I am going on holiday next week, and I know that Protopic instructions says to avoid sun exposure. Does this mean avoid the sun strictly all over the body- or just the areas that are I have applied Protopic to (i.e face and neck)?

Thanks a lot  ;D

Offline Murray Walker

• Registered member
Re: Protopic and Sun
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday July 08, 2009, 05:11:13 PM »
Hi there!

I'm not a doctor and for a definitive answer you, of course, need to ask an expert.  That said, I use Protopic the same way you do and have read up about it a little.  Imho you should try to minimise sun exposure all over your body, not just on the face and neck.  Staying indoors all the time isn't necessary but sunbathing wouldn't be very sensible either, alas.  When you go out, try to avoid direct sunlight and use sunscreen.

Most likely this is overkill but until doctors have more experience with Protopic, it's probably best to be careful and follow their advice. :)

Offline Dapper

« Reply #2 on: Wednesday July 08, 2009, 10:09:55 PM »