Author Topic: Newly diagnosed  (Read 2093 times)

Offline homeykat

• Registered member
Newly diagnosed
« on: Thursday May 22, 2008, 11:43:15 PM »
Hi!

After reading many postings in this forum, I realize that I am fortunate to be diagnosed as quickly as I have been. 

I am a nurse.  In late March of this year I went to the ER with a boil under my arm.  The doctor looked at it and said, oh, you work at a hospital, it's MRSA, here's some Bactrim.  A day or so later, a new tiny boil appeared.  By the time I was done with the Bactrim, the boils were gone.

A week later I had a new boil.  I went back to the ER, the doctor lanced it, told me it looked like a blocked sweatgland and didn't culture it (even though he said he was going to).  He told me it was probably MRSA and put me back on Bactrim.  He squeezed on me so hard that I had bruises shaped like fingers on my skin.  Five days later, I had a large mass under my skin, 2 more small boils, and a case of cellulitis.  I went back to the ER, and was given Doxycycline and told to make a follow up in primary care.  The Doxycycline was making the cyst smaller but it was still huge.  My primary care doctor sent me straight to surgery. 

The surgeon thought they were going to do an I&D of a capsule of MRSA (no cultures have been obtained yet).  He opened me up and drained a bunch of pus and took out a cyst the size of a small chicken egg.  He packed the hole and sent the cyst to pathology.