Author Topic: Elecom Ointment  (Read 12663 times)

Offline itchy4life

Elecom Ointment
« on: Thursday March 27, 2008, 04:21:21 AM »
Hello Everyone,

Newbie here.  I have a question about Elecom Ointment.  I've got eczema on my face, and I have been using it there for many years now.  I find that it is the only thing that seems to work best so far, but my dermatologist is concerned that it might be too strong for facial use.  I use it very sparingly -- once a day for flare-ups, or once every 2 or 3 days when it's not so bad.  One 60 g tube lasts me for a couple of years.  My dermatologist is now having me try Prevex HC instead.  I'm finding that I have to apply it 2 to 3 times a day in order for it to stop itching, although I'm only supposed to use it once a day.  I'm thinking I want to go back to the Elecom, but I'm also concerned about the increased possibilities of developing those little red broken capillary thingies that I heard it may cause.  Just wanted to ask those who have used this medication if this is really true.  I also slather on the Vaseline twice a day as well to keep my skin as moist as possible.

Thanks... :)

Offline itchychick

• Global Moderator
  • Peachy Sunshine
Re: Elecom Ointment
« Reply #1 on: Thursday March 27, 2008, 02:37:29 PM »
Hi there,
Firstly, the quantity you're using seems so small that I'm frankly surprised that your derm is concerned!  Over use of steroids can lead to thinning skin, but I've been using Ultravate (one of the strongest preparations) for several years, and over my entire body at far greater quantities than you, and have had no problems with thinning skin.

Isn't Prevex HC an over the counter preparation?  If so, I'm not surprised you aren't getting much relief.  You might ask your doc to prescribe a milder steroid than the elocom (I'm not certain how strong Elocom is... but there are a range of strenghts.).  The idea being that you use the least strong steroid which can help comfortably control your e.

Good luck!