Author Topic: Trip Probably Postponed  (Read 6079 times)

Offline Bamawing

• Administrator
  • Administrative Bleeper!
  • Token Nutcase :D
Trip Probably Postponed
« on: Tuesday August 21, 2007, 02:11:06 PM »
I've told Matt and Andy, and I suppose now it's time to tell the rest of y'all. Chances are good that my trip to England will be postponed for a year.

You see, not only do I need a degree in order to teach, but I also need a license. I have a temporary one, but it cannot be extended past three years, and it's a year old already.

There are two ways to get a perminant license. The first plan was to continue teaching. After I got my Master's degree, all I would need is to teach for a year, and then my employer would send in a letter saying I did a decent job and deserved a liscense. This is really what I had intended to do, considering that I had a job (last year). In order to complete option #1, I have to take a practicum this fall... bascially, a professor will come in, watch me teach, and grade me accordingly. So *thats* what "Advanced Applications" is! Would have been <bleep>ed nice if they had put that in the handbook. >:( >:( I finally found this out about a month ago. >:( All my advisor told me was that this was "the clas you take if you don't do student teaching." Come to think of it, it woudl have been <bleep>ed nice if he had answered my question fully. But aside from my advisor problems, there is a bigger problem here: I don't have a job teaching anything.