Author Topic: HS. Embarressed & scared  (Read 175983 times)

Offline laxgoalie00

• Registered member
Re: HS. Embarressed & scared
« Reply #640 on: Friday July 04, 2008, 02:42:27 AM »
Hey everyone, I'm new to this but it seems to be helpful knowing you are not alone.  I'm 17 and have been diagnosed for three years it was extremely hard going to the doctors to figure out what the problem was but after I walked out of the office i felt so much better knowing what was going on with me and that there was something that I could do to get relief from it, as a young teenager at the time i was extremely self conscious of the way I looked, high schoolers can be harsh, as an athlete it was traumatizing for me to go into the locker room with all of the other girls and get ready for lacrosse or ice hockey, softball was the worst for me as we wore sleeveless shirts and I felt like everyone was staring at me.  As time went on I became more comfortable with who I was but when this year (senior year) came around I was horrified. :-X After having two surgeries it was more comfortale and those ones never came back but I was unsure about my armpits, there are about 5 on each arm and it is an awful sight to see in a prom dress .. but as prom came around they weren't flared so there were only the red marks which no one even noticed, it turned out better than I expected.  I'm glad there is this forum because no one understands the daily pain and discomfort I go through..  :-[ I am glad that you posted this topic because I am having the same problem. :-\  I actually found this website while researching if this can happen in HS patients.

Thank you all!

Jay

Offline Tiffeny

• Registered member
« Reply #641 on: Thursday June 04, 2009, 06:59:11 PM »